e2 travel

our global classroom

Stowaway Toad

Leave a comment

image

In Thailand, any visitor must remove his or her shoes before entering a temple to show respect. It is also the custom to remove one’s shoes before entering a home. Since I rented a small home in Northern Thailand for the week, I participated in this custom. I’m usually wearing flip flops, so my running shoes are kept on my front porch.

Today, I decided to visit a nearby canyon and go for a hike. I packed my running shoes in my backpack, jumped on my little pink motorbike ( you can rent them for 100 baht a day, 31 baht = 1 dollar) and after a few stops, finally made it to the canyon, which was beautiful.

Before starting the trail, I took out my shoes, got the right one on, but had a problem with my left. There was something deep inside. I started shaking my shoe and after quite some time, a rather large toad slowly popped out its head! I started laughing and gently tapped the shoe, but this toad did not want to come out! Because of the commotion, a group of tourists from China came over, when they saw what was inside, a couple of girls jumped, one even screamed. Then, the driver of the van came over and grabbed my shoe, but still that Stowaway Toad was far too comfortable to budge. After some time, in the end, my toad friend gave up the battle a hopped out into the tall grass, maybe looking for the next shoe. I couldn’t believe that it was in my backpack all morning! I hope it enjoyed the ride!

Here are some photos of the places Stowaway Toad visited….

Toad and I stopped for a strawberry smoothie.

Toad and I stopped for a strawberry smoothie.

Mhor Phaeng Waterfall

Mhor Phaeng Waterfall

Chinese tea at Yun Lai viewpoint

Chinese tea at Yun Lai viewpoint

We stopped to check the map, toad is pictured here, in the backpack!

We stopped to check the map, toad is pictured here, in the backpack!

Where Toad and I parted ways, the Pai Canyon trailhead.

Where Toad and I parted ways, the Pai Canyon trailhead.

Good thing Toad left me at the canyon, after that I went fishing at the Piranha Fishing Park.

Good thing Toad left me at the canyon, after that I went fishing at the Piranha Fishing Park.

Leave a Reply

