e2 travel

our global classroom

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Things I May Have Forgotten to Share Along the Way

Leave a comment

As the adventures in Asia are coming to a close. I noticed a few things I have failed to mention. Don’t worry, we’ll start with the good …

Hoi An, Vietnam. Beautiful even in the rain.

Hoi An, Vietnam. Beautiful even in the rain.

Cool boats, on the shores of Vietnam.

Great boats, on the shores of Vietnam.

Wonderful things happening, this store sells recycled goods hand crafted by the hearing impaired and all the profits go to those who need heart surgeries. Very cool.

Wonderful things happening, this store sells recycled goods hand crafted by the hearing impaired and all the profits go to those who need heart surgeries. Very cool.

Another great idea, a tea shop run by the hearing impaired. Customers point to the cubes with words to communicate.

Another great idea, a tea shop run by the hearing impaired. Customers point to the cubes with words to communicate.

Artisans of Angkor, a non-profit organization that trains Cambodians in art craft, creating jobs for thousands.

Artisans of Angkor, a non-profit organization that trains Cambodians in art craft, creating jobs for over a thousand people. They provide free tours to their workshops and out to their silk farm.

Dragon fruit, I love it. Someone said it tastes like a mix of a pear and a kiwi, yum!

Dragon fruit, I love it. Someone said it tastes like a mix of a pear and a kiwi, yum!

This is fun, it's called a hot pot. You cook your own food in it at your table.

This is fun, it’s called a hot pot. You cook your own food in it at your table.

This little tree frog was perched on my doorknob awaiting my arrival in Ko Lanta, Thailand.

This little tree frog was perched on my doorknob awaiting my arrival in Koh Lanta, Thailand.

Did I mention Hoi An is beautiful even in the rain?

Did I mention Hoi An is beautiful even in the rain?

Okay, on to the bad. First of all, these aren’t necessarily bad, they are experiences that make life interesting, or lead to a good story, or teach us something. I actually have little to report.

The buses in Vietnam were interesting. You climbed up into a seat and tried to sleep through the night. Some roads were worse than others, but this mode of transportation was tough on this light sleeper.

The buses in Vietnam were interesting. You climbed up into a seat and tried to sleep through the night. Some roads were worse than others, but this mode of transportation was tough on this light sleeper.

My next bus attempt was supposed to be a shorter  one, but you know you're in for a long haul when everyone is examining the tire that is no longer on the bus. I decided my time with buses was finished after this one.

My next bus attempt was supposed to be a shorter
one, but you know you’re in for a long haul when everyone is examining the tire that is no longer on the bus. I decided my time with buses was finished after this one.

Train travel was much better.

Train travel was much better.

Finally, the ugly. Now remember this is a matter of opinion …

I had to look closely to see that these were baskets full of eels for sale, maybe they are tasty? Maybe they are not so ugly after all.

I had to look closely to see that these were baskets full of eels for sale, maybe they are tasty? Maybe they are not so ugly after all.

Maybe you guessed it, but this is silk worm salad. And yes, I tried it. Just imagine the silk worms are like little potatoes, they taste similar.

Maybe you guessed it, but this is silk worm salad. And yes, I tried it. Just imagine the silk worms are like little potatoes, they taste similar.

You probably don't want to hear about this one, and yes I tried this too, you never know unless you try. Pig's brain, not that tasty (I'd rather eat bugs)

You probably don’t want to hear about this one, and yes I tried this too, you never know unless you try. Pig’s brain, not that tasty (I’d rather eat bugs)

So we can’t end on ugly, there was far too much beauty seen in the past three months, so let’s end on how I ended. In the tropics of Thailand …

Guest property bordering National Park, near Krabi, Thailand

Guest property bordering National Park, near Krabi, Thailand

Harvesting rubber in a rubber tree plantation, Krabi, Thailand.

Harvesting rubber in a rubber tree plantation, Krabi, Thailand.

Bird of Paradise, Krabi, Thailand

Bird of Paradise, Krabi, Thailand

Park on the island Ko Lanta

Park on the island Koh Lanta

Insert towel, Koh Lanta

Ko Lanta, Thailand

Koh Lanta, Thailand

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

